1 December, 2023 News

Delegation prepares for COP28: ARE takes action

ARE will participate at the 2023 UN Climate Change Conference (COP28) this year again in Dubai with a delegation of its members.

COP brings together government, business, NGOs, and civil society leaders, represents a critical moment to strengthen collaboration and evaluate progress made since the Paris Agreement was signed in 2015. In addition, it presents the ideal opportunity to track progress and discuss new pathways for advancing SDG7 on access to energy through clean and sustainable means.

We invite you to attend the following sessions where ARE will take an active role :

  • On 3 December, at 10 AM GST, Fireside chat on Space for Clean Energy led by ESA
  • On 3 December, 2 PM GST, IRENA session Community-led Projects: Transitioning Remote Communities to Renewable Energy
  • On 3 December, 3 PM GST, Zayed Prize Investor Connect Event
  • On 3 December, 4 PM GST, CLEANaction Roundtable on Future Focus and Funding
  • On 4 December, 4 PM GST, ENGIE Roundtable on Embracing a Multi-technology Approach to Achieve SDG7: Paving the Way for Successful Implementation of National Energy Plans
  • On 5 December, 09:15 AM GST, Commonwealth event on Fast Tracking Energy Transition
  • On 5 December, 11:45 AM GST, Commonwealth Unlocking Finance for Just and Equitable energy Transition – an Intergenerational Dialogue
  • On 5 December, 1 PM GST, Schneider Electric Sustainability Roundtables
  • On 5 December, 1:30 PM GST, ADEME’s Equipment for PURE for the Ecological Transition in Sub-Saharan Africa session and launch of the ARE-ADEME overview on PURE appliances
  • On 6 December, 4 PM GST, Global Solar Council session Breaking Barriers with Distributed Solar: Illuminating the Global South’s energy Landscape

The ARE delegation consists of:

  • David Lecoque, CEO, ARE
  • Jens Jæger, Director of Policy & Business Development, ARE
  • Walid Sheta, Zone President, Middle East & Africa, Schneider Electric
  • Gillian-Alexandre Huart, CEO, ENGIE
  • Grégoire Durival, Directeur Commercial Grid & Infrastructure Solutions, Sagemcom
  • Ieva Indriunaite, Policy & Partnerships Manager, Camco
  • Parfait Lutundula, CEO, Tech Power Services
  • Iain Munro, Strategy Director, Ryse Energy
  • Sandra Hon, Director, H2 Energy
  • Carlo Tacconelli, CEO & Co-founder, Engreen
  • Dario Traverso, CEO, Genius Water
  • Brendan Cahill, Director of Development, ORPC
  • Alistair Munro, Managing Director, Ryse Energy

More information:


David Lecoque   |   CEO   |   d.lecoque@ruralelec.org
Jens Jaeger   |   Director of Policy & Business Development   |   j.jaeger@ruralelec.org