Brussels, 14 November 2017 - On behalf of the Alliance for Rural Electrification (ARE), we are delighted to call for proposals for the ARE Awards 2018!

By discerning these awards, ARE – as the only global business association representing the entire decentralised renewable energy sector for rural electrification – wishes to highlight the energy access results achieved by the most passionate and innovative stakeholders and stimulate the exchange of knowledge.

The ARE Awards 2018 Ceremony will take place during the evening reception of the 4th ARE Energy Access Investment Forum on 13 March 2018 at 18:00 - 20:00.

One of the major challenges is to achieve a well-functioning coordination amongst the diverse actors with different backgrounds as represented by the different award categories, assuming that every organisation first needs to attend to its own mission and objectives. With respect to this, ARE again will reward the most effective initiative and/or project implemented with one Award per category. 

ARE Awards 2018 Categories

The ARE Awards 2018 consist of 7 categories for projects implemented in 2017:

  • Category 1: Multilateral / International Organisations
  • Category 2: NGOs & Foundations
  • Category 3: Private Sector in Australia, Europe &North America
  • Category 4: Private Sector in Africa, Asia &Latin-America
  • Category 5: Government in Africa, Asia &Latin-America
  • Category 6: Best Off-Grid Project in 2017
  • Category 7 (NEW): Best Start-Up

Selection Criteria

Applicants should structure their submission so as to clearly address the selection criteria:

  • Effectiveness to contribute to new energy access provided or existing energy access advanced (all categories)
  • Financial Sustainability (cat. 2, 3, 4, 6, 7)
  • Engagement with project beneficiaries / Participation of local population (all categories)
  • Adequate risk management (cat. 2, 3, 4, 6, 7)
  • Positive socio-economic impact (all categories)
  • Impact on CO2 reduction (all categories)
  • Innovation potential for replication and upscaling (cat. 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7) 

The selection process of the winners is as follows:

Any institution, company or formal entity can apply for the ARE Awards 2018. Candidates can apply for a maximum of two categories (e.g. category 4 and 6), which should be clearly stated in the submission. If third parties were involved in the project, candidates are required to have their explicit and signed acceptation for the submission of the project for the ARE Awards 2018. The application for the categories 6 has to be submitted by the project leader or the majority of the partners in the case of a multi-partner project.

We would like to ask you to inform us of suitable candidates and to justify them, accordingly.

Please submit your applications for the ARE AWARDS 2018 before 29 January 2018 (deadline extension) to Elmar Steurer.

Winners will be promoted globally throughout the ARE network. We can also offer free access to the 4th ARE Energy Access Investment Forum and travel support for winners.

ARE Awards 2018 Jury

  • Ernesto Macias Galán, Jury Chair / ARE President
  • Ousseynou Nakoulima, Renewable Energy & Energy Efficieny Director, AfDB
  • Salvatore Vinci, Head, Partnerships and Technical Advisory Services, IRENA
  • Roberto Aiello, Principal Energy Specialist, IDB
  • Martin Hiller, Director General, REEEP
  • Arthouros Zervos, Chair of REN21

For your information, the winners of the ARE Awards 2017 were:

  • Category 1: GIZ (Multilateral / International Organisations)
  • Category 2: Kopernik (NGOs &Foundations)
  • Category 3: Daily Life Renewable Energy Pte Ltd (Private Sector in Developed Countries)
  • Category 4: Solarkiosk AG (Private Sector in Developing Countries)
  • Category 5: Tanzania (Government in Developing Country)
  • Category 6: Solar Sister (Best Off-grid Project)


ARE Awards Secretariat

The ARE Awards 2018 is organised by ARE and its Member Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften Neu-Ulm (HNU). In case of questions, please contact with Elmar Steurer.