The Members of the Board of Directors are elected by the General Assembly for a term of four years and may be re-elected. Alongside the Vice-President, the President presides over the Board.

The responsibilities of the Board of Directors include, but are not limited to, the following matters:

  1. The definition of the Association's general strategy;
  2. The definition and development of an annual plan of activities;
  3. The liaison with the European Union, national, regional and local institutions, as well as international and intergovernmental organisations;
  4. The appointment and revocation of the Executive Director;
  5. The supervision and implementation of the budget;
  6. The preparation of an annual balance sheet, of an annual report, and of annual budget to be submitted to the General Assembly.

For more information on the Board’s responsibilities and working areas, please consult the ARE Statutes (Chapter IV, Article 16 & 17) or the ARE Secretariat .



Claudio Pedretti
Windkinetic Off-grid Power Systems




Rebecca Symington
Mlinda Charitable Trust


Board Members

Alexis Rehbinder
PV Project Manager
Générale du Solaire

Emily McAteer
CEO & co-Founder
Odyssey Energy Solutions

Irene Calvé Saborit
Co-Founder & CBDO
Sunkofa Energy



Prosper Magali 
Director of Projects & Business
Ensol Limited

Steve Wasira
Business Development Vice President
Virunga Power

Sukla Chandra
Global Product Leader – Hybrid Distributed Power
GE Power


Marcus Wiemann

Executive Director

+32 2 709 55 44